Tags

, ,

I have seven nieces and nephews, and two more by marriage.  They are all grown, and unfortunately I didn’t have the interest in enjoying their stages like baby to toddler to kid, etc.  Mostly because I was still a kid, and the baby of my family, so I didn’t care that much for smelly diapers and inconveniences!  My brother and his son lived with us for a while, so I have more experience with my nephew’s  early years, and my sister lives nearby so I got to watch her kids grow up.  The most fun for me was remembering the way they said certain words.

Opameal=oatmeal

Hepicopter=helicopter

Babingsuit=bathing suit

Panks=pancakes

Sgabetti=spaghetti

Brefdast=breakfast

Aminals=animals

Loneforsome you=lonesome for you (a particular favorite that my oldest brother said as a little one!)

Mikey spoke very early, however, in hindsight, his words were modified versions of the original, so it probably seemed like we were speaking in code.  When he was learning the names of things, we had a big book of animals that we would read.  There was a picture of a giant gorilla that he always called “daddy” without fail.  Of course, I did a portrait of Dave Matthews that he also called Daddy.  I guess any”thing” dark and swarthy must have been daddy to him.  Lord knows that description could be “daddy” to me too!  GRRRRRrrrrrrr!

Mecca ecca=motorcycle

Pepe man=spiderman

Kah=flag

Cool pup=school bus

Hippopotinus=hippopotamus

Hostipiddle=hospital

Papasicle=popsicle

Outhigh=outside

Hunna=thunder

Umma=umbrella

Happigator=caterpillar

Ambliance=ambulance (I actually had an adult friend who still said it this way.)

Gub=bug

Nini=kitty

Deedee=tv

Mikey, auntie Kathy always kept him in good shoes, which he called toes, so for a while auntie became known as “Auntie Toe” (much to her chagrin.)    He also couldn’t say Kyle, so Uncle Kyle became “Uncle Kaka.”  Auntie was suddenly grateful for her name!  He also calls our good friends Andrea and Marc, Aunt Rita and Uncle Marc.  “Andrea” told me the cutest story about a client’s toddler that was introduced to her and he understood her name to be “Aunt Rita”—I think maybe he had an Aunt Rita, but it was so cute, that I taught it to Mikey, and now, five years later, Andrea is thinking of legally changing her name—just teasin’!.  There is also “Auntie Donut” .  When my niece, Kelsey, was little the name Dodie (short for Dorothy) didn’t connect, so she thought it was donut.  It has stuck ever since for me, and thus my boys.  They love their Auntie Donut, and she is very good to them!

 

Pierce is still in the early stages of words, and some are surprisingly clear.

Appo=apple

Diddy=kitty =flandiddly danders

Cah=car

Whassa?=what’s that?

Bubbo=bubble and sometimes bottle

Chee=cheek

Mouw=mouth

Tee=teeth

Ree=ear (for a longtime)

Coco=motorcycle

Gool=school

Bah=bath

Blah=block

Ay air=gray hare (his bunny)

Numnum=food

Boon= balloon

Poon=spoon

Bee ball=big ball or any size ball for that matter

I wanna die=I want to go outside

 

