I finally found something to make a new chandelier out of for over my breakfast nook table.  Naturally, it was from TJMaxx/Homegoods. A tubular-shaped, open rattan basket with a large glass candle holder inside it for a whole $19.99, and it was my inspiration.  The right color for my kitchen and it dispersed enough light out into the space to help my almost 42 year-old-eyes.

My Inspiration

My Inspiration

One thing I didn’t think to check was the base of the glass and whether it was flat and even across the whole bottom.  It wasn’t, so drilling through it was tons of fun, and it wouldn’t hang totally straight.  Oh the beauty of the “prototype.”

The necessary tools to drill through glass.  Disclaimer:  Patience not represented here.

The necessary tools to drill through glass. Disclaimer: Patience not represented here.

I set out at about 1pm on Sunday to use my fancy (used drill bit—from my dining room light), and by about 2pm, I had finally made my ½” hole.  I had several opportunities over that hour to ask myself why I thought making my own light (again) was such a great idea.

I drilled a hole through the basket part, moved the jute handle and hardware to the opposite end, and returned to the air conditioning to start assembling.  That was also tons of fun.  I guess I scavenged all of my original hardware parts for the dining room chandelier, as well, because I needed to go back to Home Depot—and Lowes, because I couldn’t find everything I needed to finish the light.  Why should this little project stray from the usual pattern?

Top of the "intended bottom" of the basket

Top of the “intended bottom” of the basket

Inside of fixture with a "chandelier socket."  There is no key or switch on it like a regular lamp socket.

Inside of fixture with a “chandelier socket.” There is no key or switch on it like a regular lamp socket.

???????????????????????????????

My first attempt at a lighting fixture meeting it’s replacement!

Finally, three days later, I had the parts, the ambition, and clarity of mind to figure out the best way to assemble it, borrow my neighbor’s ladder (because even though I like to do this kind of stuff, I don’t own my own 6 or 8’ ladder), and install it.  It’s not perfect, but I think it’s kind of cute!  Let me know your thoughts…but only if they are filled with praise!

New Light OFF

New Light OFF

Light installed--funny how it looks like the cane chairs on steroids!

Light installed–funny how it looks like the cane chairs on steroids!

???????????????????????????????

