Tags

, , , ,

I guess from a DIY standpoint I have had a busy month, which is good, since over all the design business has been quite slow.  It started with a second-hand chair that my friend bought for $20 15 years ago, and that I begged her for when she got tired of it.  It finally came to live at my house about 10 years ago.  A red wooly fabric, dark legs, brass nailhead was appropriate for my house, until my children came along.  Then I went from wanting cozy inviting dramatic color, to soothing and more monochromatic.  Hmmmm…I wonder why?  I did the putty finish on the wood frame and my mom did the reupholstering.

Chair Before

Chair Before

Chair After

Chair After

Then I moved on to a client’s good federal style oak bedroom furniture.  Out of date, but beautiful quality, we decided to do a painted finish that would suit her guest room design.  Here are the befores and afters.

Client's furniture before

Client’s furniture before

Nightstand after

Nightstand after

Chest After

Chest After

Close-up

Close-up

After the prep, I primed, painted, sanded paint off, glazed with about three different colors and a couple coats of poly and a third on the top surfaces.  Looks totally different doesn’t it?

Then, since the garage was already trashed from my project, I hauled a nightstand I have that the boys have beat to heck in the kid room and painted that too!  The boys better keep moving, or they may find themselves a different color with multiple glazes!

My nightstand before

My nightstand before

My nightstand after

My nightstand after

See a trend?  I’m lovin’ this putty-gray-driftwood-y finish that shows no dust and is soothing to look at!  I did that to my Ethan Allen coffee and end table a couple of months ago, too.  So much for being a purist!  (Part of the reason for needing a new finish appears in the before picture…)

Ethan Allen Tango table before

Ethan Allen Tango table before

Jennifer Donovan's Tango table after

Jennifer Donovan’s Tango table after

And the last thing I did recently was take a piece of the poor palm tree that Greg so badly abused with his weed whacker yesterday and made an elephant out of it.  My sister-in-law does tons of these, and they are so clever, that I tried my hand at one that had been drying in my garage forever.  I wasn’t sure if Mr. Snuffaluffagus was cheesy or not…I am still not sure, but I am inclined to say he is growing on me!

Elephant from Palm

Mr. Snuffaluffagus

